All right, I'm stupid - pups syntax?

(Lee_Ars) #1

I give up. I am a simple journalist. Regexes have defeated me.

Goal: Add a location to Discourse’s nginx.conf file such that when the container is rebuilt, the location gets added.

location ~ ^/uploads/default/customizations/ {
        try_files $uri =404;
        proxy_set_header Host $http_host;
        proxy_set_header X-Real-IP $remote_addr;
        proxy_set_header X-Forwarded-For $proxy_add_x_forwarded_for;
        proxy_set_header X-Forwarded-Proto $thescheme;
        proxy_set_header X-Sendfile-Type X-Accel-Redirect;
        proxy_set_header X-Accel-Mapping $public/=/downloads/;
        expires 1y;
        add_header Cache-Control public;
    }

How to do this: edit my app.yml file and use @sam’s pups bootstrapper to stuff it in there.

Problem: Since I can’t specify an arbitrary line number to insert at, I have to instead use the pups replace function. I need to add this new location below an existing location in discourse.conf that already contains a regex (location ~ /_?emoji.*\.(png|gif|jpg|jpeg)$/). Since pups uses regex matching to find its replace string in the first place…this is blowing up like a nuclear bomb and I totally do not understand how the hell to proceed.

I hate to be the dumbass who begs for someone else to write his code…but please someone help me. I have been chewing on this for a few days on and off and I just can’t wrap my brain around how to proceed. I tried scanning through the other templates in the template directory and I couldn’t find anywhere in any of them with representative syntax for me top copy.

Sorry :frowning:

(Régis Hanol) #2

Have you tried only matching enough of the regex to be sure you’re replacing the right spot? It’s much easier to match location ~ /_?emoji than the whole line.

(Lee_Ars) #3

I…had not tried that. This is why I’m not a developer.

Giving that a shot—my addition to app.yml looks like this: