Cached avatars not showing up after migration

(Peter Curry) #1

Hi,

I’ve been using Discourse for a few months (thank you!), originally using a Bitnami stack. Yesterday I bit the bullet and got the latest version running in Docker (on a Linode server, the same one the old Bitnami stack was running on). I followed the migration instructions from Advanced, manual method of manually creating and restoring Discourse backups, and almost all the content and data came through.

The one thing that isn’t working is the avatar thumbnails. Locally-uploaded avatars only show up at certain sizes, for example the 50px one doesn’t show up (http://community.dinopoloclub.com/user_avatar/community.dinopoloclub.com/straan/50/221.png) but that user’s profile page looks fine (Profile - Straan - Dinosaur Polo Club). I reuploaded my avatar and, after changing the filename to force it to regenerate the thumbnails, it works everywhere. So newly uploaded avatars are ok. Gravatars aren’t working at all.

I’ve double-checked and all the uploads came across from the previous install. The directory /srv/discourse/apps/discourse/htdocs/public/uploads/default in the old Bitnami install was moved to /var/www/discourse/public/uploads/default in the new Docker container. I’ve run rake avatars:clean and avatars:refresh to no avail.

Any advice on where to start looking?

Thanks!

Peter

(Sam Saffron) #2

You may notice this is not size related, for example x49 works just fine:

Whats happening is that you did not copy all the optimized images over. I think this fix should do the trick, but be sure to have a full backup just in case.

cd /var/discourse
./launcher ssh app
rails c
> OptimizedImage.destroy_all
> exit
rake posts:rebake

This will force a full rebake of everything and trigger new optimized images.

(Peter Curry) #3