Can an administrator post iframe based podcast episodes for discussion?

(Peter Button) #1

I’m about to start a new Discourse community to discuss weekly podcast episodes. My podcast host is Blubrry and they provide a way of embedding a podcast player in an iframe.

Here’s the player code without the first and last angle brackets:

iframe src="//player.blubrry.com?podcast_id=17697281" scrolling=“no” width=“100%” height=“138px” frameborder=“0”></iframe

I tried to create a one box with this code (including the angle brackets) in a new topic and nothing appeared.

I understand from previous posts in this community that using iframes is a problem because of security risks.

As an administrator, I would be the only person creating topics like this for discussion of a weekly podcast episode.

I’ll be grateful for any observations.

Thanks

Hosting podcast(s) in Discourse
(Rafael dos Santos Silva) #2

You can either:

1. Use a service that already have an Onebox ready, like SoundCloud:

https://soundcloud.com/the-game-podcast/george-caulkin-talks-about-meeting-phil-giles

1. Convince people from blubrry to implement oembed

2. Write or pay someone on #marketplace to write a custom plugin with blubrry onebox.

(Peter Button) #3

Thanks very much for your speedy and effective response @Falco!

I’ve just passed on your suggestions to Blubrry and I’ve invited them to have a look at this discussion.

(Jay Pfaffman) #4

See also on the onebox domains whitelist explanation:

(Peter Button) #5

Thanks Jay. I had a look at the onebox domains whitelist explanation. I’m beginning to understand rather more about what’s going on.

I’ve now had a message from Blubrry to say that they’ve asked their lead developer to review this discussion and to comment.

As an aside, Blubrry use a Simple Machines Forum for support. I’m really hoping that they like what they see when they visit here!

(Angelo Mandato) #6