Can I force display of name instead of/alongside username?

(Jim Kennedy) #1

I’m an admin on a new Discourse instance for use inside the company, so a private instance.

When users register they set their own name (say John Smith) and username (say Mr. Vanilli); that’s cool. However, when someone posts you just see Mr. Vanilli and you have to click in to see that Mr. Vanilli is really John Smith.

Unfortunately we are rolling this out to about 1000 users at a place of work, so I’d like for everyone to see without clicking that it’s John Smith. Sorry to be so corporate, but can that be done? I can’t find it anywhere.

(Jeff Atwood) #2

Yes, there is an admin site setting for this, I believe it is “display name on posts”. Simply check that option.

(Sander Datema) #3

Right now that option shows both the username and the full name next to each other which is a bit overkill.

(Jeff Atwood) #4

Is it overkill? Twitter doesn’t think so. And you need the shorter, unique @name for mentions…

(Jim Kennedy) #5

Cheers @codinghorror, that’s exactly what I needed. Been looking at the admin screens for two weeks now but didn’t see that one. In reply to @Sander78, the use-case for me is that I need everyone to be able to know who all the other users are, but lots of my users also want to use nicknames. This allows for both, so I can ease off on being a pedant about ‘no nicknames.’

(Sander Datema) #6

Alright, it maybe no overkill. On my forum it looked a bit silly because usernames are first names and when the full name is added it looks like overkill.

Since that’s a specific user case, I can understand it’s not completely overkill.

I have to say though that Twitter has a more distinct difference in layout for usernames and full names.

(Jim Kennedy) #7

Now I can force the display of both Name and Username. Cool.