Category selector shows up as blank

(Sian White) #1

Hi all,

When a user is creating a thread, all the categories in the right hand dropdown are invisible in the box. The relevant category can still be selected, but without the preview our users don’t seem to even think to click the dropdown (understandably!)

I’d appreciate your help as I don’t know how to fix this.

Thanks,
Sian

(DjCyry) #2

Hi
Whats happend if you make click on categories ?

(Sian White) #3

Hey,

If I click the dropdown the categories appear, but still don’t display within the dropdown box itself once I have selected one:

(DjCyry) #4

Should be like this ;

“Uncategorized” as default . Check your “posting” options .

(Sian White) #5

Thank you. I can’t see anything relating to categories under ‘posting’ in my admin settings. Do you know what I should be looking for? Apologies if this is really basic, I’m a Discourse beginner.

(David Taylor) #6

Do you have any customizations on your forum? Try using safe mode to disable them temporarily and see if the problem persists.

(Stephen Chung) #7

I don’t think there is such a setting…

If you have uncategorized disabled, then the user must choose a category from the drop-down box. There is no default.

However, the text Select a category... should appear in the drop-down box… The fact that you show an empty drop-down box means something is probably wrong with the text…

(Sian White) #8

Hi Stephen,

Yes, that’s what I was thinking! Do you have any idea where I might be able to fix the text? Or where to start looking?

(Stephen Chung) #9

You might want to check your theme… Could be your theme hiding it.

The first step is to press F12 to bring up the debugging console, then see if you can find the text inside the drop-box.

If you don’t then likely you’re running an old version of Discourse. Upgrade and try again.

(Felix Freiberger) #10

Remember to do this – this step will be able to tell you whether your theme is causing this :slight_smile: