Change /categories to some other text

(Auryn Macmillan) #1

As part of the branding for my discourse site (daohub.org), I’d like to call “categories” something different, in my case “hubs”. Is there a simple way do do this? If so, where/how? If not, could someone point me in the right direction of the places I might need to modify code?

This is my first time using discourse, so be gentle.

(Jeff Atwood) #2

Admin, Customize, Text lets you change literally every single line of text that appears anywhere in Discourse. Have at it :wink:

(Joshua Rosenfeld) #3

But that doesn’t change the URL…I don’t believe it is possible to modify the URL structure like you can the text on the site.

(Mittineague) #4

Technically the URL in a browsers address bar isn’t text in Discourse is it?

I didn’t get that the OP was interested in changing that, but if the intent is to change the “/c/” to “/h/” then yes, Admin -> Customize will not do that.

Personally I’d rather not tackle changing the routing, but I guess it could be done if it was felt to be important enough.

(Joshua Rosenfeld) #5

I wasn’t sure if that is what the OP was interested in, but the title of this topic (with the slash) would lead me to think so. Will need @auryn_macmillan to confirm.

(Auryn Macmillan) #6

The top bar is the more important part, so thanks for clarifying.

The URL is less important, and not really necessary, but it would look cleaner if I could figure it out. If changing it is going to cause me any hassles down the road, it’s probably not worth it.

Thanks for the quick responses too.

(Auryn Macmillan) #7

I had a bit of a look through the text options. Any idea specifically which I should be modifying in this instance?

(Jeff Atwood) #8

You can search for the target word you wish to change, that’d be best.

(Mittineague) #9

I just did a search for “Categor” - to cover both Category and Categories

If I counted correctly there are 51 results.