Chat Plugin features

I’m all for chat. How large of a project would this truly be? I recently threw a project on freelancer.com for a ground up build of chat which integrates into discourse database and has the same look/feel as it. Offers were in the $300-400 range.

I’ll assume this would be more for a straight plugin, but no too ridiculously much. Is $500 a reasonable assumption?

At 63 votes, I bet you could get 100 individuals to throw in $5 a pop. There’s your monies to get it done. All that would be needed is a little organization to get 100 people to throw into the pot. Push it on freelancer.com or similar site. Done.

Big Picture Features Poll
What is the most awesome plugin for Discourse, that does not yet exist?
(Kane York) #2

A few cursory investigations have concluded that the problem is mostly the UI work. Where do you put it, what does it look like?

Ok, except I’m not a developer in the slightest. Guess what I’m asking is, how many (wo)man*hrs… monies do you think this would take?

Personally, I’d like to see it as a section of the screen you could hover over, and it would expand out. Pick a close to the corner edge spot.

It would also be nice to have reverse infinite scrolling. You see the posts that show after the bubble expands out, yet can seek back as you wish to the beginning of time.

I’d also think it clever to have an easy hotkey for it. A chime + flash to indicate a msg ur wave, hit the hotkey to expand out the chat.

I’ve decided to take the initiative here. I’m certain that a lack of chat is keeping this community from becoming that next-gen platform people don’t even know they want yet. There’s interest in chat, but it seems scattered enough as to never be hashed out and really thrown the energies needed to see it through.