Content collaboration tools/reputation system

(ete) #1

I understand it’s quite far removed from the current focus and a major feature, but in the long term, I would absolutely love to see a way of integrating a content-creating community based on Discourse with a good set of tools for collaborative editing and managing content (using all the awesome things reputation-based access allows, and having work on collaboratively edited pages feed into the forum’s reputation system sanely. Which is hard, but I’ve been considering it for a few years… and have some ideas.). Forums are almost great for collaborative community projects, but no-one’s got the whole reputation feedback for generating content in a collaborative and open project thing right, and Discourse is going to have a large number of the parts needed to do it properly.

Handling reputation systems on pages created by a large number of people in a way which rewards them even vaguely fairly for different kinds of improvement to a page is fairly hard to do, and all ways I’ve come across have some issues. My current favorite idea is letting users tag their edits (with pre-defined tags, e.g. spelling fix, added new section, created stub, full grammar check) with each tag granting a certain amount of reputation. New users and those with low reputation would have the tags assigned to their edits checked and modified/approved by a high rep user who would get a small rep bonus for doing this much like users are rewarded for upvoting useful content on stackoverflow, and edits correctly tagged by the editor would give a larger reputation bonus than those which are initially mistagged to reduce the incentive to label edits with a higher earning tag. And users who don’t want to figure out which tags to put on their edits don’t have to, they could leave it to the higher users (though they would be encouraged to tag themselves).

Things needed: