Create Zendesk Tickets from Discourse posts

(Shiv Kumar) #1

Create Zendesk Tickets from Discourse posts. No special installation instructions.

Using discourse as a community ticket system
Discourse Zendesk Plugin
Feature to allow uservoice/getsatisfaction suggestions and voting
How to measure efficiency of workers in conjunction with Discourse posts
(Johnnyman727) #2

Hey @shivermetimbers,

Thanks for your work on this plugin! I have a couple of questions about it that I’d love some information on when you get a chance. I’m new to Ruby, Docker (where my company hosts Discourse) and Discourse itself so I apologize if these are silly questions:

Does your plugin automatically generate a Zendesk ticket for every new forum post? Or does it generate a dialog box from which a user manually creates a ticket?

Also, do you happen to know if you can still use plugins in conjunction with the one-click upgrade from within Docker?

Thanks a ton!

Jon

(Shiv Kumar) #3

The plugin places a green, Zendesk button at the bottom of every topic visible only to forum admins and moderators. When that button is clicked, an API call is made to Zendesk to create a ticket for the given topic. The description for the ticket contains the topic title, the contents of the topic’s first post and the topic’s URL. It also CC’s the original topic creator so they can follow along with the ticket as it’s being resolved.

Green Zendesk button at the bottom of every topic

After the green, Zendesk button is clicked, it immediately turns yellow and the text changes to indicate that a ticket has been created. When you click on the button, it takes you directly to the ticket in Zendesk. On every page load, a call is made to Zendesk to check the status of the ticket and update the color/text of the button to reflect the ticket’s current status.

Button variations based on ticket status