Current user id in plugin.rb

(Joe Buhlig) #1

I apologize if I’ve placed this in the wrong category as I’m new to Discourse and meta.

I’ve been working on a development version of Discourse and I’m really loving the application. I’m working to build an integration with Braintree, but part of the process requires me to get the user_id of the current user. I couldn’t find any documentation on how to call the User object from Ruby. There’s a number of cases that show how to do this on the Ember side, but I couldn’t find any on the Rails side. I’m probably just being dense and I’m missing something simple, but my brain can’t see it.

(cpradio) #2

Based on

It seems to just be current_user

(Alan Tan) #3

In your controllers, you can get the current user with current_user

(Joe Buhlig) #4

Doh! I knew it was simple, but just couldn’t see it. I was trying to pull it with the model for some reason. Thank you much!

(Joe Buhlig) #5

I’m still missing something. It still tells me that current_user is undefined. Any ideas on what’s still missing? I thought I understood how Discourse was doing this, but apparently it’s more complicated than I thought. This is in plugin.rb.

PLUGIN_NAME = "braintree_integration".freeze

after_initialize do
  module ::BraintreeSetup
    class Engine < ::Rails::Engine
      engine_name PLUGIN_NAME
      isolate_namespace BraintreeSetup
    end
  end

require "current_user"
  require_dependency "application_controller"
  class BraintreeSetup::SetupController < ::ApplicationController
    puts current_user.user_id
  end
end

(Régis Hanol) #6

You can only access current_user inside an action.

(Alan Tan) #7

It might help if you read through this Action Controller Overview — Ruby on Rails Guides. :smiley:

(Joe Buhlig) #8

The action part makes sense. Is there an easy way to run the action from there? I’ve tried before_action on it, but it fails. This is something I’ll want to run every time the user logs in.