Custom home page to discourse

(bunjee) #1

Greetings Discoursers,

Congratulations for what you did so far. It looks great.

I’m in the process of adding my custom home to discourse.

I’m new to Ember so I followed this cool tutorial from @eviltrout: Adding to Discourse using Ember.js Part 1: Routing and Templates - Evil Trout’s Blog.

Added the following at the end of application_routes.js:

this.resource('home', { path: '/home' });

Created home_route.js inside app / assets / javascripts / discourse / routes.

Discourse.HomeRoute = Discourse.Route.extend({
  renderTemplate: function() {
    this.render('home');
  }
});

Created home.js.handlebars inside app / assets / javascripts / discourse / templates.

<h1>Hi</h1>

For some reason I still get 404 when accessing myDiscourse.com/home.

Does anybody know why ?

Edit: I’m using bitnami and I precompile assets with the following:

sudo ​/opt/bitnami/ruby/bin/ruby bin/rake assets:precompile RAILS_ENV=production

Custom home page routing
Custom page preserve scrolling
How to customize your own discourse and deploy it to production on Ubuntu for beginners
(Robin Ward) #2

The issue here is the Rails app also needs to answer to /home. Otherwise it will serve up a 404. Right now all URLs have to exist in both worlds.

I’ve considered allowing a failback where a URL that doesn’t exist server side would just serve up the JS app and do nothing, but never decided if that’s a good thing or not. It’s not typical to make URLs that don’t have a server side counterpart.

Help wanted on plugin controller
Discourse.Route.buildRoutes is not a function
(bunjee) #3

Thank you sir @eviltrout.

I skimmed a little fast on the initial Rails part of the tutorial.

I guess I’ll add a controller for home in the discourse / app / controllers.

Convention over configuration should do the rest.

Takes a little time to get used to when coming from C++ :D.

(bunjee) #4

Added pages_controller.rb in discourse / app / controllers: