Detailed understanding of the dashboard statistics and data

(gingerling) #1

Hi

I am a community manager and am doing my first annual community report since we moved to discourse. I am delighted there is so much data compared to our old forums, however, I need to understand what I am seeing in some detail.

First of all,

if I add up the numbers in Users per Trust Level
163,38, 5, 0, 0 I get 206.

Is this the total of how many forum users we have? How is this number decided upon? My guess is something like “number of people who have ever logged on to the forums”

We are using the WP plugin with SSO, so this confuses things a little. The total of new accounts on WordPress since the site launch is 372… does that therefore mean that 166 of our WordPress sign ups have never visited the forums?

This will probably be the first of many questions about these numbers :smile:

Ratio of topics to posts - and what does this tell us about our communities
(gingerling) #2

Is “Number of visits” unique visitors or not?

It would be good if 0 on day was recorded in statictics so all dates are listed
(gingerling) #3

What is API Requests?

(Kane York) #4

Think of that as the analog to a more traditional page view count.

[quote=“gingerling, post:1, topic:31389”]
Is this the total of how many forum users we have? How is this number decided upon? My guess is something like “number of people who have ever logged on to the forums”
[/quote]Yes, that’s right. The same info is also available at /about.

38 at TL1 means that 38 people have spent 15 minutes or more on the site :wink:

(gingerling) #5

So each API request is a new page view? Can you be more precise (I am a little aspergic)

So, number of people who logged in? Specifically to discourse, not just to the WordPress area of site?

And

Is rather depressing… are you sure? It’s now gone up to 41… These number seems very odd