Discourse Back Up S3 Postgres version mismatch

(Benjamin Smith) #1

I’m trying to back up to S3. No backs ups have executed since setting up discourse about a week ago. Below is the report I get while trying to run the backup. Is there an easy way to upgrade postgres to match the Amazon update? Are there other options? Will it mess up the data I already have in my discourse? I’m a novice at this so any help will be appreciated!

AWS hosting
I’m using putty to ssh
Docker install

[2015-06-12 23:07:47] Dumping the public schema of the database…
[2015-06-12 23:07:47] pg_dump: server version: 9.4.1; pg_dump version: 9.3.7
[2015-06-12 23:07:47] pg_dump: aborting because of server version mismatch
[2015-06-12 23:07:47] EXCEPTION: pg_dump failed

(Jeff Atwood) #3

Is this a restore or a backup? I am not sure how the Postgres dump program can be a different version than Postgres itself.

(Benjamin Smith) #4

Backup I don’t have any backups to restore from.

https://forums.aws.amazon.com/message.jspa?messageID=571101

I think EC2 and RDS are running on different versions? I’ve been all over AWS forums, all over the web, and am still scratching my head. I can’t create a backup so I can’t create another version of RDS running 9.3 instead of 9.4.

Can you think of a work around?

(Benjamin Smith) #5

Update: I unchecked backup to S3 and now am getting a brand new error. Then it just gives me an infinite loop like its trying to remove .tar leftovers.

[2015-06-13 03:43:28] ‘Ben’ has started the backup!
[2015-06-13 03:43:28] Marking backup as running…
[2015-06-13 03:43:28] Making sure ‘/var/www/discourse/tmp/backups/default/2015-06-13-034328’ exists…
[2015-06-13 03:43:28] Backup process was cancelled!
[2015-06-13 03:43:28] Notifying ‘Ben’ of the end of the backup…
[2015-06-13 03:43:28] Cleaning stuff up…
[2015-06-13 03:43:28] Removing ‘.tar’ leftovers…

(Régis Hanol) #6

Might be a permission issue.

(Benjamin Smith) #7

What would I do to figure that out?

(Benjamin Smith) #8