Discourse Backup Vs DO Backup?

(Siraj Mahmood) #1

I have slightly confusion, if discourse have fully backup option so do we need to enable DO backup option which is premium at this time. Is discourse backup contains all things of discourse community forum.
Actually DO backup is premium and friendly speaking still I have zero experience with DO backups.

Secondly, DO snapshots are free, is it good and is it contains all things of discourse forum?

I need suggestion from any experts who can understand this strategy. Thank you!

(Alan Tan) #2

Discourse backups are stored locally on to the same DO droplet which means that if you lose data on the DO droplet for whatever reason, the backups are lost too.

Difference between a DO Snapshot and Weekly Backup?

DigitalOcean users have the option of backup and snapshot features. The main difference between the two is that snapshots can be generated manually and can be enabled at any time, while backups are run automatically weekly, and must be enabled during the droplet’s creation. Additionally, the server shuts down during snapshots, but stays powered on during backups, which happen in the background.

If you want to play it safe and not rely on the weekly snapshots, you could enable the option to upload the backups to an Amazon S3 bucket and at a much higher frequency. Search for “backup” in your admin site settings. :smile:

Digital Ocean backups take a backup of the whole VM’s disk. If you rely on this 9 times out of 10 I bet when you try and restore you’ll have a corrupt database.

Discourse backups take into account all the files uploaded and the database, everything else (the software that runs discourse for example) can really just be setup again easily assuming you’re installing via docker and remember your container configurations.