Discourse nginx conf

(Gabriel) #1

Hello,

I have installed Discourse following instructions from github repository :

And it’s running well :slight_smile:

The host domain name for this is : forum.mydomain.com but I would like to host it as : mydomain.com/forum instead so it improves my SEO. And I am struggling to do so…

I have some knowledge about nginx and setting things up. But not about docker.
From my researches, i could need a reverse proxy but I didn’t find a case like mine.

Do you have any recommandations or way to do so ?

(Jeff Atwood) #2

Subfolder is a much more complex setup, and we advise against it unless you want to absorb significant additional complexity for essentially no benefit, other than the aesthetics of forum.example.com versus www.example.com/forum

(Gabriel) #3

Adding our forum as a subdomain would significantly improve SEO and this is our main value (being well ranked).

I am ready to go into additional complexity if needed. I did it for our forum (wordpress hosted) and it went well.

(Jeff Atwood) #4

It does not; this was confirmed by Matt Cutts at Google (before he left to work for the US Digital Service). Feel free to search here for specifics.

Subfolder adds massive setup complexity for no benefit – other than aesthetics.

(Gabriel) #5

I read before what Matt Cutts said. Thats why I did a subdomain first.
But then after researching more deeply I might have found that what he said back in 2012 might not be true now.

(Jay Pfaffman) #6

(Christoph) #7

Hm, that SISTRIX article shows some graphs indicating that some websites received more traffic from Google directly after they changed from subdomains to subdirectories. It then tries to explain what exactly might be the cause for this (given that Google says that they don’t prioritize one over the other). And the the two explanations mentioned are:

1. novelty
  2. some systems do a better job at interlinking between subdirectories than between subdomains