Dissecting Discourse for Newbies

(mrsentinel) #1

Discourse Devs, I am new to programming altogether and really liked the discourse project. I am steadily learning Ruby and Rails to understand the architecture behind Discourse. What would be really helpful for guys like me is a learning roadmap so that someone could focus on learning the right languages to fully understand the UI and backend of Discourse. Here is what I know I need to study:

Ruby
Rails
PostgreSQL
Ember.JS
Javascript
HTML/CSS

I have seen some mention to coffee script, so if I need to learn that let me know. Also, if anyone has suggestions as to the progression of the learning of those programming/scripting languages I would greatly appreciate it!

(Jens Maier) #2

You’ll want to start with Ruby, but fortunately for you, Ruby is a really benign language to learn. There are a few oddities, such as the differences between blocks, procs and lambdas and eigenclasses add a lot of magic (sometimes even voodoo), but you don’t actually need to know all those things to get started with Rails.

The next thing you’ll need is ECMAScript, a.k.a. JavaScript. Try to understand prototypes and what this really does and you’re set.

Somewhere along the way you’ll want to pick up SQL and relation algebra. Postgres does a few things differently, but those are easily Google’d. Unless you want to define a custom full text search definition or move logic from Ruby to PL/SQL, basic joins and aggregations will take you quite a way.

The problem is that those were the easy ones, because next up are Rails and Ember. Despite being merely applications of Ruby and JavaScript, these frameworks are massive in scale and at this point the nature of dynamic languages works against you. No IDE in the world will be able to tell you precisely what methods an object will respond to. The fact that Discourse itself is huge as well isn’t exactly helping, and too few classes have formal documentation.