Edit existing source of the forum

(Alex Temina) #1

If you want to go to the point (tl;dr), skip the first 2 paragraphs :stuck_out_tongue:

I’ve been looking for this since a week ago. I’m starting to think that, somewhat, is not possible.
I’m not a discourse expert, nor a forum creator expert, nor a RoR expert, and I never used a VPS, only hostings for websites. BUT! I’m a software engineer, so no problem :wink:

I have discourse installed in a droplet in Digital Ocean, using docker, so it’s in a container. I’m starting to control how discourse works, and all the admin services, but I wanna go further. I want to make the forum mine, I want to be able to control every single corner of the forum, and of course, that is not possible even with the millions of options that Discourse has from the Admin (Thanks, dudes!).

Let’s go to the point. One of the things I want to do is to edit the existing source. As far as I know, that is not possible with the HTML customization, since this is only adding new elements, and not editing the existing ones. How can I do this?
Let’s put an example to make it easier:

@rewphus points at “Header” when leaving us that beatiful piece of code. But as I said before, it is not possible, since we want to edit something that already exists, the rows of the topics table.
So… how can I do this? Thanks for all the documentation you can supply here, guys.

–Alex

P.S: I don’t mind If I have to make a plugin or whatever, ready for all :wink:

(eriko) #2
<sarcasm>

It is completely doable. It is also really bad idea. Something to keep in mind is that Discourse is really three different applications. The Rails app, the redis/sidekiq app doing the jobs proccessing, and the javascript app running in the browser. Not that is really matters as you can muck with them all in the same way.