Filezilla and attempting to log in for first time

Hello.

I’m a beginner at this so please bear with me. I was able to install Discourse for the $99 method. I received an email from Discourse stating the following: “Log in to your server via SSH and change the root password.”

On the email, it provided me the IP address, user name, and password.

I’m using Filezilla, and I can’t seem to log in. I added the word “root” to the user ID for Filezilla but I don’t think this is right.

Can anybody please advise me? Greatly appreciated.

(cpradio) #2

To upload a logo, you simply need to login to your forum, go to the Staff Area, and read the “Assets for the site design”.

Short version: you reply to that topic, and upload the image in your reply. Then you copy the URL and paste it in the Admin > Settings area.

Thanks cpradio.

I updated the title to this post actually. I will look into what you advised me about the logo.

However, I’m still struggling with trying to log into Filezilla…

(cpradio) #4

You won’t use Filezilla to login. You will use something like PuTTY or another SSH client.

Can you provide any kind of basic references on those 2? Or examples of which ones are user friendly for me to use? I guess Discourse file access can’t use Filezilla? I’m not sure what the reasons are. Thanks!

(cpradio) #6

Discourse runs in a Docker container, that container manages all of the files, so they aren’t accessible in a way you are typically are used to, won’t work with this software.

PuTTY can be downloaded at Download PuTTY: latest release (0.70) (for Windows).

If you use a Mac or Linux, SSH is built in, so you simply use ssh username@your_ip_address to connect.

If you can ssh directly into a container, why can’t you use Filezilla to get directly in? This should be possible.

(cpradio) #8

You’d have to expose FTP ports and even so, you still can’t upload images via filezila, the image cleanup routine will wipe them out.