For Security Reasons, I want to edit /admin URL

(Oka bRionZ) #1

Hello,

I just installed newest Discourse BETA version on my new server. I want to know how to edit admin URL to a custom prefix (discsourse.example.com/admin > discourse.example.com/custom).
I cannot edit because I don’t know how to implement on Ruby.

Thanks before.

(Mittineague) #2

Hi bRionZ welcome to the forum

Leaving aside the monumental task that changing the routing in Ruby would be, are you expert in how Ember does routing?

(Oka bRionZ) #3

I’m not a Ruby expert Sir @Mittineague , and I just want to try it. Thanks for the advice.

(Mittineague) #4

No offense, but if you don’t know that Ember is not Ruby (it’s more a JavaScript and Handlebars framework http://emberjs.com ) than I fear you are thinking of doing something without fully appreciating just how muck work would be involved.

Not that it couldn’t be done, but it sure wouldn’t be easy.

Just how much security is gained from obscurity is arguable at best, but if security is an interest perhaps you could help in other ways?

(Eoin Ryan) #5

What is the security advantage of changing the admin URL?

(Mittineague) #6

It’s what I classify as Security through Obscurity

For example, if you changed “admin” to “xyz-admin”, “green-pumpernickel” or whatever, someone trying to crack into your site would fail when they tried to access the ACP at “admin”.

IMHO at best it’s a relatively weak layer of security, but then I suppose every layer of security can help to some extent. The theory being that the more difficult something is the better the chance that a would be attack will give up and try somewhere that’s easier.

(Oka bRionZ) #7