Full of confusion on format and layout

I did search for similar posts but this seems not to be an issue with other people.

I don’t understand why I cant have access to the html coding so I can change the visual layout of my forum. I dislike the boxes categories option. I’ve never in my life seen a forum formatted this way. Why isn’t it in bulleted format? Category>subcategory>topic, that is how every forum I have ever been a member of has been. This box format is not new user friendly. My members cant figure out how to get to subcategories without being shown with pictures.
I am not allowed to change the image size for my categories? Why have categories boxes with pictures enabled if the pictures are so small?

Im sorry if this is a strange request but I have been an admin on other forums and always had access to the coding. In fact my job was to design themes. I cant make my own themes here. I looked for other themes but there arent enough people doing it, AND the theme previews dont actually preview the theme, there arent any demo forums to play with and check the themes out.
Part of me thinks I must be bat-shit blind missing obvious things, but Ive been playing with this since it was uploaded and I cant figure it out.

Where are the forum statistics. Not admin, regular user. You know: newest registered member, who’s online, what is each member viewing. Every forum I have ever been on had those links as a footer, even including messages like 'happy birthday to__"

The user cards are nice but why cant I input code for a mini profile? I hate to sound like a broken record but… every forum I have ever yadda yadda.

This is just a mind blowing difference. I am trying to grow accustomed to it, but it just lacks MANY of the things I love about forum life. And I would love to be told its all there, I am just missing it.

Any help would be extremely appreciated!

Well the good news is that you’re in the right place to find some answers. Searching should help!