German translation

(Gerhard Schlager) #1

The German translation is nearly finished. I’ve contributed a bunch of translations lately and started reviewing the existing ones. Unfortunately the larger ones (like FAQ, TOS) are still untranslated. I don’t think I can handle that since I’m not a professional translator. I hope someone else can. A few others are also not translated yet since I couldn’t find them on the UI, so I wasn’t sure in which context they are used. Maybe someone else has more luck.

Anyway, there are a few things I’d like to discuss since it’s not always clear how we should translate certain things:

• community: Should it be Gemeinschaft or Community. I favor Community and it’s even mentioned in Duden. :wink: It just has a nicer ring to it.
  • staff: For lack of a better word it’s currently translated as Mitarbeiter. Usually those users are not really Mitarbeiter (employees), so it somehow seems wrong to me. However, I just can’t figure out a better translation.
  • account: Currently there are three different translations used: Konto, Nutzerkonto and Account. Which one should it be?
  • Currently the translation uses informal language which is quite fine with me. What’s not clear to me is if we should use Du / Dein or du / dein. I prefer the latter one. Somehow it doesn’t sound as informal as the former one. It feels more like the English you

What’re your thoughts on those points?

German "About, FAQ, TOS, Privacy"
German translation mixes "Du" and "du"
(Jens Maier) #2
  • community:
    Tough one. I guess the english word has taken on a different meaning than any of the available literal translations can express, so leaving it untranslated might be the only choice. Still, yet another anglicism…

• staff: