Going from PHPBB 3.1 to Discourse....so many questions!

(Cori Foxworthy) #1

My client is currently wanting to change the forums on his site from PHPBB 3.1 to Discourse. First Godaddy does have a hosting package for this (this is where the full site + forums are being hosted) but they can’t do a migration from the MySql database to whatever Discourse uses. The Discourse hosting package is too steep in price at the moment for my client. I know Digital Ocean has a hosting plan as well. Do they handle migration from MySql to whatever database Discourse uses? I am a website designer not developer so knowing how to code for Ruby, PHP, etc is not my strong suit. I would also need a staging instance of the forums for styling purposes as it is not good practice to play with a live version. How can these things be accomplished the easiest? The current forums are about a year old and the client really doesn’t want to start from scratch. Any help, advice, guidance, etc would be greatly appreciated. I am also not a DB admin so I don’t have any real knowledge of importing, exporting, or migrating databases.

(Rafael dos Santos Silva) #2

My attack plan would be:

1. Set up a new digital ocean discourse install. Use the guide ou the 1 click install.

2. Customize everything with CSS, js and html until you feel it’s good enough.

3. Hire a freelance Dev to handle the import from phpbb to Discourse.

4. Set the ttl of the forum dns to the lowest.

5. Do the import

6. Turn the dns to the new forum.

(Cori Foxworthy) #3

Ok sorry for being slow. So start with a new install and style that. Once I have the styling matching the rest of the website, get a dev to do the import from the phpbb MySql database to the Discourse Postgresql (?) database. Not sure what ttl is. Does this sound like what you are suggesting?

(Rafael dos Santos Silva) #4