Graph API v2.1 Upgrade Notice

(Daniel Hollands) #1

I’ve just received the following from Facebook:

Birmingham.IO has been making recent API calls to Graph API v2.0, which will reach the end of the 2-year deprecation window on Monday, August 8, 2016. Please migrate all calls to v2.1 or higher in order to avoid potential broken experiences.

We recommend using our new Graph API Upgrade Tool to see which of your calls are affected by this change as well as any replacement calls in newer versions. You can also use our changelog to see the full list of changes.

I’ll be honest, I have no idea what any of this means, but I figure it must be something to do with Discourse.

Anyone got any ideas? Thank you.

(Jeff Atwood) #2

Possibly Facebook logins @neil?

(| full stack virgin) #3

This is facebook log-ins. got the same as well, especially in the facebook app section notification.

(Nicolas Guibert) #4

This seems stupid to me.

I am a developer. I have looked at my code and the documentations but I still have no idea what calls I am using from API 2.0.

I can’t seem to find any reference to the version in my code.

Also Facebook interface does not want to give me a list of calls because either I don’t have enough trafic, or I have not made any calls to 2.0. Very useful information!! So how do I figure it out mr Facebook? The most likely is that I am not at risk, but I can’t take the risk especially with a deadline in the middle of the holiday month of August (another stupid decision, nothing should be changed in July-August, mr Facebook, think a bit!)

Who can help?

(Neil Lalonde) #5

I’m looking at this now. Looks like Facebook deprecated something omniauth-facebook uses.

(Neil Lalonde) #6

So my conclusion is that nothing needs to be done. The details:

The omniauth-facebook gem makes unversioned calls to facebook’s graph api. Facebook says:

An unversioned call will default to the oldest available version of the API.