How can I translate or change the default badge name/description?

(Ingrid Peters) #1

Hi there!

I am new at working with Discourse and I hope someone can help me with an issue I am having. I am in the middle of changing the various settings and I have changed the interface language to Dutch. Most of the settings have been translated except for the default badges.

Is it possible to automatically translate them to Dutch? If so, how can I do this?
If this is not possible how can I change both the name and description of each badge and add my own description?

I found a previous topic [Issue with badge translation] (Issue with badge translate) that looks similar to my question, but after checking with our IT guy he suggested the Dutch translation for the badges is not available.

If anyone has a suggestion on this let me know!

An example, please go to this url:
your-forum.com/admin/customize/site_texts/badges.member.description

(Ingrid Peters) #3

@SidV, thanks for your answer. I found the customize text section. This will allow me to create my own text, but I would like to use both the English texts and translate it into Dutch. We will start with a Dutch community but also want to have the possibility to expand to different languages, eg. English and German.

I’d rather change the language file and upload this to our system. We found a translation file (.yml). However we haven’t found a way to upload it to our own environment. Is this possible?

That depends on the hosting you are using.
Contact the hosting and ask them how do you should upload that files?
Anyway, I don’t suggest upload that files, because in the next remote upgrade (if you use it), that file will be overwritten.

What kind of translation are you doing, I don’t understand.

Why do not use https://www.transifex.com/discourse/discourse-org/dashboard/ ?

(Guido Jansen) #5

@Ingridhave you solved this? I have the same issue: our forum is in Dutch but all badge names are still in English…