How easy is Discoure to configure at first?

(Yunus Tierney) #1

I have tried to ask this question before but the only answers I have received are from seasoned Discourse staff or developers. Ideally I would like to hear from people who have set it up themselves and did not know anything before doing so.

Can anyone tell me how much work / time to be expected to set this up once installed - for someone like myself who would be learning it from scratch. I am a web designer with CSS and HTML skills. That’s it. I would be setting this up for a client and need some realistic expectation so I know how to price the work offered to my client.

Thanks,

(Rafael dos Santos Silva) #2

The Discourse set-up takes literally 30 minutes if you follow the guide closely.

After that, the personalization, social logins, seed posts, integrations, badges, etc can eat your time easily if you don’t scope well.

Also, try to start without plugins, because that can shoot you on the foot easily.

(Jeff Atwood) #3

Not sure that’s entirely what was being asked? My rule of thumb is this:

If you are comfortable configuring a new WordPress site, you will be comfortable configuring Discourse.

(Mittineague) #4

You’re talking after successfully installing it?

I’m curious, with a topic titled
"READ ME FIRST: Admin Quick Start Guide"

Did you read it?

(Ringgit Malaysia) #5

Let me chime in to share. I don’t have a lot of technical skills. Hell, I even have trouble with Javascript in my Blogger template. But I was able to successfully run Discourse in Digital Ocean droplet. This is also the first time I bought a domain ( I went with godaddy) and the first time I use an email service like mailgun.

So, you can imagine my high learning curve - messing with DNS and then emails and then installing Discourse. But I must say the installation of Discourse is super easy. It’s like idiot proof easy.