How to backup Discourse on a compromised and locked down Digital Ocean droplet?

(Panteen Pro-V) #1

Recently my Digital Ocean’s droplet (server) just got compromised by Trojan that turned my server into a zombie for DDOS attack. What happened now is that Digital Ocean locked down my droplet so that it would not cause further damage. They want me to backup the data and move them to new server instance. I have never done anything like this before in my life thus I have couple of questions

• Which folder should I back it up ( e.g /var/discourse/ , database, etc?..)
  • How should I deploy my backup into new server in the seamless and least technical involved way?

(Jens Maier) #2
mkdir -p /mnt/root
mount --bind / /mnt/root
tar czf /tmp/backup.tar.gz --ignored-failed-read --numeric-owner -P --one-file-system --exclude=./tmp -C /mnt/root .
umount /mnt/root

This sequence will create a gzip compressed tar archive containing everything in your / filesystem; download this file, keep it safe. As long as you have this, you can recover from any mistakes you may make while restoring your forum. However, this backup will also contain the malicion software, so beware!

Moving Discourse is a bit easier. First, copy your app.yml file and everything in the shared directory (tar czf discourse-shared.tar.gz -C /var/discourse shared). Then provision a new droplet and follow the usual Discourse install instructions. Use your old app.yml instead of creating a new one. After bootstrapping, instead of creating your admin user, stop the container and replace the new shared folder with your backup (rm -rf /var/discourse/shared && tar xzf discourse-shared.tar.gz -C /var/discourse), then restart the container.

If you haven’t updated your old instance in a while, you may need to manually migrate your database by SSHing into the container and running rake db:migrate. Give the container one more restart and you should be good.