How to create xml sitemap, Is there any plugin?

(Siraj Mahmood) #1

I’m a beginner and still my site have no sitemap, on my forum 10+ topic has been created but still Google crawler do not crawl this because I have no sitemap. On admin side, there is no sitemap option like http://www.site.com/sitemap.xml

Please help me, how can I generate finest one sitemap, which can easily automatically update itself for future topics or post pages.

Discourse Sitemap Plugin
(Robin Ward) #2

Discourse doesn’t have sitemap support. You shouldn’t need it – none of our sites have it and google indexes them fine. It is more likely you haven’t been crawled yet.

(Johnathan Nader) #3

@eviltrout I wouldn’t necessarily dismiss that there is no need for a site-map. As it is unlikely google/yahoo/etc will fully crawl all the sites unless otherwise given a index of it. Other than time it takes, I can not see any negative effect only positive for having a sitemap, especially one as the discourse grows and gets larger.

(Robin Ward) #4

We’ve put lots of work into making sure Google can crawl the pages it needs to already, and it’s clearly working given our results / SEO for any of the many sites we host.

I’d rather we spend our time on a specific example of something that is not being indexed properly.

If it’s really important, perhaps someone could create a sitemap plugin. If it shows any improvement in SEO that would go a long way to convince us to put this in core.

Forum not being updated on search engines
(Siraj Mahmood) #5

But can someone tell me, I installed discourse 4 days ago still Google not crawl any single page of my site. Do i need to ping Google crawler? Any suggestion :evergreen_tree:

(Neil Lalonde) #6

I’m not an SEO consultant, but can’t you use Google Webmaster Tools to add the site and find out why Google isn’t crawling your site?

(Charles Walter) #7

I did it using Google sheets and uploading the sitemap file to a post in staff.

(Siraj Mahmood) #8