How to debug the Discourse?

(Mike) #1

Hi

I would some information on learning how to debug Discourse, setting up a few breakpoints, and just sort of poke around. I’m no expert in Ruby or Rails.

I am using RubyMine. I’ve downloaded the repo, and installed all the bundles and gem packages.

I try to run for example the file “badges_controller.rb” and I get the error message:

/Users/[user]/Documents/discourse/app/controllers/badges_controller.rb:1:in `<top (required)>': uninitialized constant ApplicationController (NameError)
	from -e:1:in `load'
	from -e:1:in `<main>'

I don’t even know why I expect it to run as I am not connected to a database, I notice the message:

7:26:35 PM Database connections detector
           Database connection properties are detected.
           Click here to let RubyMine discover and setup new data sources. (show balloon)

What do I have to do to set up a local dev environment where I can begin to use RubyMine debugger on the app?

(Régis Hanol) #2

Maybe @riking can help? I think he’s using RubyMine too.

(Kane York) #3

I don’t use the IDE debugger. I insert a binding.pry, auto-save the file (tabbing out will do this), then either do the request again (if it’s an auto-reload file) or restart the bundle exec rails s if it’s not.

(Mike) #5

Sounds interesting. Could you pls give me step by step instructions? :smiley:

(James Kiesel) #6
  • Add binding.pry (or byebug, which I prefer; both are included in Discourse’s Gemfile I believe) as a line of code to the place in your .rb file you’d like to stop execution
    (like so:
def method
  some_stuff
  binding.pry # or byebug
  some_more_stuff
end
  • Save your changes to that file (ctrl+s)
  • Navigate to the discourse page in your browser which will reach that line of code
  • Go to your server log (the console you ran rails s in, and enter any command(s) you like.
  • Once you’re done you can type exit (or continue for byebug), to continue execution of the request normally.