How would I get started with emulating a website's custom CSS

(Therza) #1

I’m trying to build out my first discourse, and I’m a complete CSS novice, but I’m slowly learning.

In a perfect world, my discourse would have a very similar layout/design to experts.feverbee.com

How would I get started in this endeavor?

Heh, I’d consider starting with something a bit easier. The FeverBee header isn’t simple embedded CSS but the rest is fairly easy.

You can find out how to customise banners here: Banner themes (and instructions for customizing them)

Are there particular aspects of FeverBee that you are trying to emulate? It was a while since I did it, but I can prob recreate the CSS for you fairly quickly.

You can also see how things are built using the Chrome inspector. Are you familiar with using it?

(Therza) #4

Wow, it’s both awesome and a coincidence that you of all people replied. Thanks!

The elements I’d love to borrow are the banner, popular topics icon row, and just a general header that is consitent between my wordpress and discourse.

Right now my discourse feels like a separate entity from the wordpress, and I want to unify their aesthetic.

No worries.

So the banner and popular topics are pretty heavy going – they’re not simple embedded CSS. I can’t share that code because it’s proprietary and I no longer work at FeverBee. We could ask @Richard_Millington if he’ll share it for the greater good…

Alternatively, if you have a budget I’d suggest talking to @joebuhlig and he could build you something similar.

Getting your header to match your main site is reasonably simple.
This topic explains it in detail:

To make it match your own site you’ll need to pull the CSS from WP.

(Therza) #6

So I was able to get the header content added to my discourse by adding the CSS to the header tab of customize from admin dashboard. I’m having trouble finding/copying the CSS from my wordpress to the discourse header.