I am concerned about COPPA for under 13 users

Hi. I’m reviving this discussion to extend it beyond IP addresses, which is what everyone has talked about so far. But Discourse logs, and displays publicly, far more information, which is not nearly as justifiable as IP logging: date joined, date of last post, trust level, how much time reading, how many topics read, how many hearts given and received, etc. In addition to the GDPR, I’m concerned about the US COPPA, because some of my site’s users will be under 13, and as a privacy enthusiast all this information collected just rubs me the wrong way.

If we really have to dig through the code to find all this, I suppose one of those 12-year-olds would be happy to do it. But really, I can’t be the only person who thinks this way, and I’d really like one big check box under Basic Setup saying “Maximize privacy.”

1 Like

I can’t speak to GDPR/COPPA specifics (I’m not a lawyer), but I’m a bit confused here. Quite a bit of what you listed is already public. Last post date, likes given/received, and most of the other data on the user summary page (topics and posts created, topic replies, topic topics, top links…) as well. As for the rest, I’m failing to understand the concern - knowing how many topics I’ve read, for example, doesn’t seem like personally identifiable information, or a privacy concern.

If users are concerned, they can enable the Hide my public profile and presence features user preference to prevent non-staff users from seeing their profile page.

The problem with this is that “privacy” means something different to everyone. What in your mind is a privacy leak in others is perfectly fine. Also, whose privacy is the setting trying to protect? And from whom?