Improve Discourse's pagespeed score?

(Jeff Widman) #1

When I run Google’s pagespeed tool on Meta.discourse.org it gives a number of suggestions:

http://developers.google.com/speed/pagespeed/insights/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fmeta.discourse.org

Discourse is only scoring a 62 on mobile and an 84 on desktop.

Are any of their suggested fixes easy improvements? For example, they suggest better image compression.

I’m a n00b on the tech side, but if @sam or @eviltrout can look at this and suggest a few easy fixes I’m willing to try putting together a pull request to implement them. I’m not sure when I look at the list of issues which ones are easy to improve and which are just a byproduct of Discourse’s rich client-side architecture and therefore pretty much impossible to change.

Normally I wouldn’t pay much attention to a silly score–I know in previous pagespeed threads @sam and @codinghorror said there isn’t much that can be improved here–but an acquaintance who runs a large forum just sent me a Google Analytics screenshot showing a ~10% bump in traffic from Google after he spent some time trying to increase his PageSpeed score.

We’re both very aware that correlation does not equal causation, but he dug through the analytics and the lift seemed to happen across his entire site–it wasn’t caused by a couple of pages driving tons of traffic. The only code modifications he made during this period were related to improving pagespeed–stuff like compressing images, etc. Plus Google explicitly says they use loading speed as a ranking factor.

So any improvements here will not only help the user experience but also drive more traffic…

PageSpeed complaints about Discourse
Google Page Speed Insight
PageSpeed complaints about Discourse
(Kane York) #2

Well, this is the primary violation:

Eliminate render-blocking JavaScript

Except for the part where Discourse uses JS to do all of the rendering.

(Jeff Widman) #3

Are any of the others things that can be changed?