Invited a friend and now they are Trust Level 2?

(Lee Dohm) #1

On my board for my gaming group, I am an Admin and I manually promoted myself to Trust Level 4, Elder, mainly so my trust level didn’t say “Basic User”. I invited a friend to my board using the “Invite User to Topic” feature. They accepted last night and when I checked on their user profile this morning … they’re showing as Trust Level 2, Regular User. According to this post:

Trust Level 3 and above are supposed to make invited users start at Trust Level 1, not 2.

Or am I misreading something?

Unable to add invited emails to trust level groups
(Kane York) #2

This is the appropriate code in core:

user = User.new(email: invite.email, username: username, name: username, active: true)
    if invite.invited_by and invite.invited_by.has_trust_level?(:leader)
      # People invited by users with trust level 3 will start at the default trust level + 1,
      # unless the default trust level is 2 or higher.
      user.trust_level = SiteSetting.default_invitee_trust_level
      user.trust_level += 1 if user.trust_level < TrustLevel.levels[:regular]
    else
      user.trust_level = SiteSetting.default_invitee_trust_level
    end
    user.save!

Hmm, the default value of default_invitee_trust_level is 1.

I think the logic is messed up here.

(Lee Dohm) #3

I double-checked to be certain, my default trust level settings are at the defaults …

(cpradio) #4

I’m not an expert by any means when it comes to Ruby, but wouldn’t this change the default invitee trust level from 1 to 2?

(Alexandre Angelim) #5

The invitee does get level 2 if the inviter is a Leader. If the inviter is a regular user it will honor the default_invitee_trust_level.
I think its intentional. Leaders are a special groups entitled with a lot of trust. If they invite someone, I don’t see a problem with that person being a regular user.

(Lee Dohm) #6