IP Works but Registered Domain Does Not

(Molly) #1

Immediately, I may have bit off more than I can chew in terms of setting this up by myself, but I want to give it a shot. This will likely be a long post because I want to give the most information I can, any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. And again, understand that I’m brand new to this side of things but want to learn. I followed this guide to set up my discourse community on digital ocean.

I cannot get discourse.ghostvolta.com to display my Discourse forum. The IP address, however, works.

I received my activation email and upon clicking it, the page cannot be displayed. The email address that sends my activation email says that it’s from "info@unconfigured.discourse.org" I tried activating it with the IP address in place of the url, but I receive a message that says,

“Sorry, this account confirmation link is no longer valid. Perhaps your account is already active?”

When I try to log in with those credentials, it says that I haven’t bee activated yet. And the vicious cycle continues.

There has to be some issue with DNS I assume, I just don’t know where to find the issue. So I’ll share what I have set up and hope that it’s something easy I overlooked.

My host name was purchased from DreamHost. The subdomain information for discourse.ghostvolta.com on DreamHost looks like this:

I registered discourse.ghostvolta.com on DigitalOcean first. My configuration for that looks like this:

Have I typed something incorrectly? I’m so close and am so eager to use this forum but I don’t know where to go next. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. If you need further information to help, I’m happy to provide it as well.

(Michael Downey) #2