Out of memory errors with custom plugin

Would someone provide instructions to configure memory allocation?

Given the sporadic kernel “out of memory”/dump messages, 3x increased swapping, and increasing application degraded response, it seems our app is sometimes running out of memory. Our system currently has 8GB mem and 2GB swap. Details below.

I have reviewed the instructions for adding more physical mem and swap at ("Cannot allocate memory" when upgrading) but have not been able to find details about how to allocate it.

When it comes to mem configs, we are using all defaults. The system recovers after a few minutes, but with increased usage - we think it’s time to get educated about how to improve performance. I am, however, unsure of where and how to configure this. Increase memory allocated for the docker instance, or for number of ruby unicorns (or both)?

I’m a sysadmin with no ruby and limited docker experience - so pointing me in direction of the config file, and syntax to use will help greatly.

Discourse 2.6.0 beta2
Ruby 2.3.1-2~ubuntu16.04.14
Ubuntu 16.04

How many unicorns are you running? It is set on your /var/discourse/containers/app.yml file.

Hi Rafael - In the “env” section of app.yml, I see we are configured to use 4.

1 Like

Did you re-run discourse-setup after you upped your RAM? It will tweak the memory settings accordingly. You can also read the comments in app.yml and adjust them.

1 Like

Getting OoM with just 4 unicorns is really weird. This should use around 2GB, leaving 6 GB for the PG and Redis.

You need to investigate what process is consuming all the memory during an OoM event, this is not normal.

3 Likes

Hi Rafael and team, my name is Serge and I work with mr. Happy Lee who just departed for long anticipated vacation so I’ll be working on this issue.

To add to description: The server was originally built with 8GB of RAM and 2GB swap. We did not upgrade it since then.