Mongodb as a Discourse Backend

(Stephanie Sunshine) #1

Hi there would it be possible to use Mongodb as the backend to Discourse using mongo_fdw ( GitHub - citusdata/mongo_fdw: DEPRECATED, moved to ) extension for Postgres?

It looks like you still get all the power of Postgres but the features of Mongo as well. It says there are some limitations, but I don’t know enough about Discourse to know if they would be a problem. I know there are real reasons why the devs decided to choose and ultimately stick with Postgres, but as an administrator I would like the freedom that Mongo gives me for clustering options. Maybe we can have both worlds?

(Sam Saffron) #2

Can you explain what particular problem you are trying to solve here?

(Stephanie Sunshine) #3

Clustered databasing with true automatic failover. I already have a nice mongodb cluster running and would like to deploy Discourse to it. I completely understand from reading other posts that Postgres was chosen for specific reasons, but looking at any of the automatic failover options and their problems, I would rather use what I currently have running rather than setup another system that doesn’t seem to have a real easy clear way to fail over and fail back without an administrators intervention. I think for the same reasons that a MySQL port seems to be off the table that a Mongodb port would be even more off the table, but with that adapter, I believe that I could use Mongo without causing any issues, but i’m not familiar enough with Postgres or Discourses internals to answer that question, hence why I’m here asking it. :smile:

So is it possible that this might work, or are there things missing from this adapter that would prevent it from ever working?

(Sam Saffron) #4

Its actually a massive undertaking moving Discourse to support any other DB engines let alone an nosql backend. It is not even on our distant roadmap.

That said, you can have active/active clustering with pg.

(Stephanie Sunshine) #5