Monkey patching a controller from a plugin

(Keith Newton) #1

Hi I’m new to Ruby and Rails so I apologize in advance if this has an obvious solution. I’m trying to overwrite some of the functions in various controllers - for example the destroy function in SessionController. When precompiling assets I get an error that ApplicationController does not exist. When stubbing out ApplicationController I can get the code to go through precompilation however my monkey patched version of the function isn’t called. I’m assuming this is because the actual SessionController is being loaded after the plugin? If so is there a way to work around this?

Monkey patching a model from a plugin
(Vikhyat Korrapati) #2

If the problem is that the controller is being loaded after the plugin, you can probably put your code in an after_initialize block. Example:

after_initialize do
  User.class_eval do
    def avatar_template
      uploaded_avatar_template
    end
  end
end

(Keith Newton) #3

@radq This still doesn’t work for me =(

Hey @sam for some reason this post doesn’t show up in my list of posts or topics or anywhere else in my profile (unless posting this reply fixes it for some reason). Also I can’t PM @radq.

(Jeff Atwood) #4

Yes it does, your post shows up just fine here

(Vikhyat Korrapati) #5

The new current user provider hook means that you shouldn’t need to monkey-patch SessionController now.

(Keith Newton) #6