Persistent formatting errors in app.yml with tabs and spaces

(Chethan Thimmappa) #1

Dear Discourse community,

I need your help in getting my site live again with https support. Our Website community.gaadikey.com which talks about automobiles in India is using a one-click discourse droplet set up… I thought it is good thing to move my site to https and even bought an SSL certificate to install it…

I am new to all this RoR and docker stuff and I went through the instructions provided by Sam on allowing SSL for discourse docker setup . I added new template and added 443 port in app.yml etc …and was facing an issue with a “tab character present” error for hours while editing app.yml file.

Eventually after removing tab character, and adding all required ssl paths, i tried “./launcher rebuild app” etc but I dont know what happend, My site is not live from then, more than 24 hours from now ( and is still offline at this point)… I don’t now what went went wrong, or what mistake I did…

But for now I dont want to lose all the existing activity which happened on our site… Please tell me how I can I find these data ( I know it is somewhere in postgres inside /shared/standalone ) and I can import all this data to an entirely new droplet.

Or If you can help me get past this error in existing setup that will be great too… But I am feeling very uncertain, as my site is down and also want to know in future how can I avoid the downtime while upgrading to ssl or doing something similar.

Looking forward to hear from you… Essentially I want to copy all data in postgres to new droplet ( I read this but couldn’t figure out how to restore content of community )

(Jeff Atwood) #2

Per the error message on your screen, a folder went missing. Did you check what happened to the missing folder?

I would also check df -m disk space and free -m memory as well.

(Chethan Thimmappa) #3

Thanks for the reply Jeff.