phpBB 3.1 Ascraeus - Opinions?

I recently noticed the phpBB team released 3.1, which I gather it’s release was a long time coming. I am mostly familiar with the platform as an end user. I was wondering if anyone familiar with it had thoughts on the new feature set they are advertising.

Things that stood out to me are a responsive layout, notification system, ajax calls, and a new extension system. The new layout however, (unfortunately) looks pretty much the same, and I haven’t seen any more minimalist themes since it is so new. Is this a platform worth checking out?

I like the responsive layout and notification system of Discourse, but I have no experience with the language/framework under the hood which makes me reluctant to use it, along with the more exotic server requirements.

(Erlend Sogge Heggen) #2

You’re not asking the most neutral party :stuck_out_tongue:

My two cents: I won’t give phpBB a second look until they’ve completely reinvented themselves. phpBB is responsible for many of the awful forum design trends that plague the internet to this day – signatures, cluttered profiles, ugly default themes etc. etc.

(Gerhard Schlager) #3

That’s kinda harsh… Let’s wait and see what people will say about Discourse after 15 years. :wink:

@19eighties I didn’t test it yet since I’m currently trying to replace a phpBB 3 with Discourse. The thing is, it still looks “old” (mainly because of that awful default theme) even though they spent a lot of time eliminating technical debt.
For me it’s too little too late. But, I’d say, give phpBB a try and see for yourself.

No comment.

Uhh, a 1GB VPS is not exotic.

(mountain) #5