Pricing plan for freelancers/(very) small businesses?

(Alexandra) #1

Hi there,

I just came across Discourse and I think it might be a great replacement for my current WordPress/bbPress setup. I am a freelance translator and language teacher and I have set up a small community of Germans learning Dutch. At the moment there are less than 100 users.

Since I currently make no money with this community I find it hard to justify paying 100 $ a month (although I do think it’s totally worth it).

Do you by any chance have any plans to offer some sort of freelance version? That would be absolutely brilliant.

Thanks!
Alexandra

(Jeff Atwood) #2

The $99 self-supported install might be of interest; that’s $10/month, payable to Digital Ocean.

See https://discourse.org/buy for details (scroll down)

(Alexandra) #3

Thanks Jeff, that is definitely an option I will look into.

I am not entirely sure that I’m up to maintaining both the underlying OS (Linux) and Discourse on my own but this might indeed be a good way to test the waters …

Thanks again,
Alexandra

(Jeff Atwood) #4

No real maintenance is required, everything can be done from a web browser.

Every 6 months you may need to SSH in and issue 3 commands to update the container, then reboot to get auto-updates from Ubuntu. That’s it.

(Alexandra) #5

Ok, that sounds doable :slightly_smiling:

Thanks for your quick support!

(Alexandra) #6

Just took the plunge and went with the self-supported install.

(Tim) #7

I’m interested in this option as well. I’ve got a private server now that I just don’t have the discipline to manage. I’ve been hacked via a holes in Plesk (for certain), Wordpress (suspected) and my forum software. I’m not sure whether any or all of these incursions has compromised the server itself (but assume it has).

It’s a hobby site that the users generally pony up for. I’d like to do the self-support option, and can handle keeping discourse up to date. Is that the only maintenance required?