Profile Background Image

(Johan Jatko) #1

The current grey background in the user profile page looks like a placeholder for something that could contain an image.

What about adding an option to link/upload a background image Twitter/GPlus style.

There could be an option to tile the background image like Twitter has.

PS. My email is public on my website, don’t worry bout it. =)

(Jeff Atwood) #2

Trust level: elder? Impressive.

(Johan Jatko) #3

Trying my best to grow a beard to fit in, but its mostly darker patches that can be mistaken for dirt. =(

Further: I’ll try to get a PR(if there is interest for this) for this done when I have finished some school stuff, but im fairly new to Rails so will take a while.

Not sure if it should allow off-site embedding or just uploading thou?

(Martin Wright) #4

The current grey background in the user profile page looks like a placeholder for something that could contain an image.

I was thinking this the other day.

(Torrelles) #5

Oh hi @ArmedGuy :3

I support this!

(Patrick) #6

A great (and rather obvious!) idea. Good stuff!

(Katie Hunter) #7

I support this idea =) ! It is these little features and tweaks that members appreciate and love.

(Jeff Atwood) #8

The more I think about this the more I like it. Would love to see contributions here.

(Torrelles) #9

Can’t really code it, but could get into doing some design mockups, as text-above-image without any means of distinction could make the text unreadable in some cases.

(Jeff Atwood) #10

Generally you can add a black outline to the font, and it works on most backgrounds at that point. And if you grief yourself by adding a neon pink background to your profile, well, as Bobby Brown once said, that’s your prerogative.

(Torrelles) #11

B-but

Inb4 “don’t do web design pls”.

(Johan Jatko) #12

I believe Twitter skips doing this? And instead you have to just not have a bad background image?

(Torrelles) #13