RAM occupied by the server

(BaljeetSingh Chhabra) #1

Hey there,

I am new with Discourse. I want to know that how many user load can a server with config mentioned below can take.

2GB RAM
2 Core Processor
40GB SSD

Thanks and Regards
Baljeetsingh Chhabra.

(Joshua Rosenfeld) #2

What config mentioned below?

(Jay Pfaffman) #3

It depends mostly on simultaneous users. The only real rule of thumb I have seen in the past two years is that the database must fit in ram.

(Jeff Atwood) #4

I would not say “must” but if it does not, you need to understand your usage patterns deeply. It is dramatically safer if the DB fits in RAM.

(BaljeetSingh Chhabra) #5

@jomaxro sorry i edited the post :slight_smile: do chk it now :smiley:

(BaljeetSingh Chhabra) #6

At the current stage on this config even in the idle mode 80%-90% of RAM is occupied.

@pfaffman Brother any idea how many simultaneous user a 2GB RAM server can handle ?

(Joshua Rosenfeld) #7

Jay hit the issue right on the nose in his post:

I don’t think I’ve ever seen a hard and fast rule that x users = x specs. In general, you should be fine starting a Discourse site with the above specs (note that CPUs vary wildly, “2 core” isn’t particularly specific, and Discourse performance relies heavily on single core performance). What you should do, as you would with any system, is monitor it’s performance in real world usage. If you notice the site becoming slow, look at your site performance logs:
Did you run out of RAM and start swapping? Was the CPU maxed out? How about your network connection? etc.

Edit: just saw your post. Using “most” of your RAM is not necessarily a bad thing. Any unused RAM is “wasted”. Have you already installed Discourse? What’s using the RAM?

(BaljeetSingh Chhabra) #8

@jomaxro i am using Digital oceans service

i am doing that along.