REST API and security

(Rocky Lhotka) #1

I suppose this might not be a “bug”, but it is a serious issue.

Last night I started playing with the REST API, making calls against a non-public forum. I found that once I had the API key from Discourse I needed a username to make any call - which makes sense since the forum is private.

But I found that I can use any username from any user and it works. So once someone has the API key they can impersonate any user in the forum? No need to authenticate that user’s credentials - all you need to know is their username.

Is this not a major gaping security hole?

(cpradio) #2

Did you use the Master API Key or one assigned to a specific user?

(Rocky Lhotka) #3

My intent is to create an app that can be used by all my employees, so I used the master key.

If I create per-user keys I’d need to create a key for every user and then come up with a way to get the right key to the right user’s client device at runtime right? That seems impractical - though perhaps that’s the design intent of Discourse?

(cpradio) #4

Well my point was, the master key is designed to be user agnostic. So an app doing things on behalf of the user is really what it is for (I think) – @sam and @eviltrout can speak to that better.

API Keys assigned to a specific user, are for that user to integrate with discourse. We have one setup for our Slack Channel Bot, it is assigned to a specific user so that user can’t do unwanted things, they are limited to the permissions they have in Discourse.

So in reality to depends on 1) who has access to your app, 2) who has access to the key, and 3) what your app needs to be capable of doing.

(Rocky Lhotka) #5

It sounds like the API is not (at least today) designed to support the creation of mobile apps or system tray notification apps (which is what I’m trying to create).

(Sam Saffron) #6