Scroll Problem with How to Geek Forum / Chrome

(Bcguy) #1

I’ve been exploring How to Geek DIscourse implementation since Jeff told me tonight that its a good example of a site thats using most of the Discourse features as they come “out of the box”.

I’m new to that form (and not registered) but When I click on a lot of the forum links (I’m using Chrome Version 29.0.1547.76 on a Macbook Air 13) they open up at the end of the discussion - at the very bottom, frequently with no visible post at all. This seems like a bug.

For example - here is what it typically looks like when I click on a representative link:

https://www.evernote.com/shard/s106/sh/e94eb651-2248-4224-b301-241daec168f0/9ee4a6918a4b37b8d5771c352ed1c94c

(Bcguy) #2

Other times it just opens the link in some (seemingly random) place in the middle of the series of posts:

as here:

https://www.evernote.com/shard/s106/sh/dfc08942-c7db-40ea-bc86-bd64d31a1e69/089e3204750ae512c74728dbdd16b6c6

(Bcguy) #3

And still other times its just a blank page:

https://www.evernote.com/shard/s106/sh/816f9b99-589a-4167-93b4-4ea97f2ee1af/e977e48cafd395c63fd13871d46ff331

(Bcguy) #4

In all these cases I can scroll up to the top and read the entire set of posts - its just that the software is throwing me into different areas of the page.

(Alexander) #5

I have been seeing things like the first and third screenshots, Chrome 29 on OS X 10.8.4.

The second one, however, is probably Discourse taking you to the last post you haven’t read in that topic.

I suspect the bug in the first and third screenshots is related to that Discourse behavior, and maybe Chrome’s getting in the way?

(Jeff Atwood) #6

If you are unregistered, then topic links should take you to the first post in the topic – we don’t track read state for unregistered users.

I believe some people have reported this behavior (random page positioning when entering topics) in Chrome with OSX but we cannot reliably repeat it, and I have no access to any Macs.