Selecting A User Card Badge

(Brian Lee) #1

Continuing the discussion from User Card Badge concept:

User Card Badge concept:

Hello I am new to Discourse and was wondering how I am able to change the badge. In my preferences I get…

Deprecate "User card badge"?
(Brian Lee) #3

Maybe I just need a cooler badge than what I have acquired so far. @codinghorror says it can also be an image so I am not sure how to change it.

The reason why I am asking is because when I set up my forum I would like the users to be able to pick a title so other users know who they are as opposed to earning a badge.

(cpradio) #4

It is a per badge setting. Here at Meta, only certain badges can be set to appear on the User Card. Same with your local installation, you can choose which badges can appear on the User Card.

(Erlend Sogge Heggen) #5

This feature (among others) definitely need better explanations though. The Discourse Preferences panel is starting to become reminiscent of the VBulletin options-spree.

(SketchUp Community Manager) #6

You say that one can “choose which badges can appear on the User Card”, unfortunately I cannot see that feature anywhere. Would you be able to point me in the right direction?

(cpradio) #7

Admin > Badges, select a badge, make sure the User Card Icon?.. is set, otherwise, it won’t show up as an option

(Rick Cogley) #8

Yeah, this is confusing. It should be hidden if there is nothing to select, or, mention that when you earn a badge of type {allowed badges list}, then you can select them here.

(Love Chopra ) #9

@cpradio there is no option User Card Icon under Admin > Badges, select a badge

(cpradio) #10

I can’t think of the exact name, but there is a spot for the icon image/font-awesome class name.

Admin ->Badges
and select one of the badges and fill in the Image field, then the badge will automatically show up when you select “User Car Badge” in your preferences.

(Tom Bartlett) #12