Slack Notification Plugin

(Bernd Ahlers) #1

I created a plugin to notify a Slack channel about new topics in discourse. The source and setup documentation can be found on GitHub:

The plugin has been written against discourse 1.4-beta and is running in our production setup with version 1.3.

Have fun!

WARNING: The plugin does not implement permission checks at the moment. All new topics and all PMs will be posted to the configured channel. See this topic for details.

Integration with Slack?
Event Hooks for Discourse
Put in a vote for Discourse in Zapier apps
Allow Slack to unfurl/expand links to "login-required" Discourse instance
(Tom Newsom) #2

Fantastic! I’ve been looking for something like this. Will install and test asap.
I’m no coder, but by glancing at the source, this looks very extensible. Have you considered adding notifications for other events?

For example, @mentioning a special user (ie. @slack) creates an @channel post in Slack etc

More pressing, however, is some sort of permissions control. This version announces everything in every category, including admin. I’d like to be able to either exclude certain categories, or assign the plugin a username, so the Trust Level and Group membership of that user can affect which categories get watched.

eg

(Kane York) #3

@bernd you will want to do:

guardian = Guardian.new(User.find_by_username(SiteSetting.slack_permissions_username))
# choose one:
# return unless guardian.can_see? post
# return unless guardian.can_see? topic

(Tom Newsom) #4

I’ve turned this off because it forwards everything including PMs. It’s a great start and I hope it grows, but at the moment, the privacy holes are just too big.

(Jeff Atwood) #5

Doesn’t that depend which account you set up with the API key, and what visibility that account has?

I suggest creating an unused “regular” user account with no special privileges as the API key holder in this case.

(Tom Newsom) #6