SSL install confusion

(Alex "Rota" Freeman) #1

Hello, I’m new to discourse as well as ubuntu, but have Unix experience. I have been able to successfully install and configure Discourse on the system, but am stuck trying to get my SSL certs installed.

The link above has some confusing text and I’m left with a log telling me that the ssl.crt can not be found.

My confusion is where in the /var/discourse/ directory should these certs go?

My confusion started with the line at “Configure NGINX” where it says “Add a reference to the nginx ssl template from your app.yml configuration file:” I do not know what this means.

I believe this is where my process breaks down. Is there a conf file some where that needs to be linked to the app.yml ?

Trouble shooting I tried adding the certs in /shared/ssl/ directories all over the place. like:
/var/discourse/shared/ssl/
/var/discourse/containers/shared/ssl
/var/discourse/shared/standalone/ssl
I get an fopen error about /shared/ssl/ssl.crt

I created ssl.crt and ssl.key using cat and placed them in the dirs above with no success.

Any help is welcome. I’ve google around this and am still stuck.

Thanks,
-Alex

(Jay Pfaffman) #2

The easiest way to get SSL is to use Let’s Encrypt. The standard install script will do all the work for you, though it does require a bit of care and feeding to maintain. (That is, you need to ./launcher rebuild app at least once a quarter to get a new cert.) If you’re doing a new install, just delete containers/app.yml, run ./discourse-setup and give it an email address when it asks for the letsencrypt_account_email.

@sam, perhaps that HOWTO should have a note at the top that Let’s Encrypte is probably easier for most folks.

If you started by running ./discourse-setup then it created /var/discourse/containers/app.yml. You need to edit it to enable the ssl template, though if you’re getting an error about not being able to find the certs, then you have apparently done that.