SSO with SAML (mod_shibboleth) and Flask

(fmarco76) #1

Hi all,

I have developed a small sso application with flask in order to allow the the authentication using SAML in conjunction with mod_shibboleth. If you interested this is the link:

Cheers,
Marco

Please visit our Discourse Forum! (Directory)
(Manthan Mallikarjun) #2

Sorry, I have no experience with python, but why not just port discourse/single_sign_on.rb at master · discourse/discourse · GitHub into a python library so people can use that instead?

(fmarco76) #3

I am not a Ruby expert so I started from the protocol description instead of the code. The code can be modified to be a library but it is so short that people interested can easily integrate the main methods in their code.

Actually, the only similar code to what I did is https://meta.discourse.org/t/saml-authentication-proxy-for-discourse-sso/27864 but it tries to implement SAML protocol with many limitation so I decide to do something integrated with shibboleth supporting the full protocol.

(Bruce Becker) #4

I’m not the author of the code - that was @fmarco76 and he can comment in more detail - but I think the reason we didn’t just port the SSO was that he wanted specifically to use python. We have a lot of experience with identity federations (this is decentralised authentication, not central SSO), so I guess he wanted to do it right by his standards :smile:

(Paolo G. Giarrusso) #5

This looks interesting, but even after skimming the README I’m not sure it’s what I need.
I have little clue on Shibboleth (not sure what’s mod_shibboleth or SAML), so I’ll just ask:

1. Does this allow a Discourse instance to delegate authentication to a Shibboleth provider? (As a tip, this could be put at the README beginning).
  2. Does this require admin access to the Shibboleth server (that I don’t have), or is it just an intermediate service between Discourse and Shibboleth? Or what’s the architecture?

(fmarco76) #6

Hi Paolo,