Suggestion: ability to send password reset emails from the Admin page of a user

(Dan Dascalescu) #1

As an admin, I would like to send a password reset email to a user.

Currently, if I go to the Admin page for the user, the only email-related option is to Deactivate the account, then Send an activation email. To send a password reset email, I’d have to go to the user’s public profile, then to Preferences.

Adding a “Reset password” option to the Admin page would save these extra steps.

@sam, is this what you had in mind in this post in a related thread?

(Sam Saffron) #2

Yeah, totally fine with a “Reset Password” button in admin/user.

(Jeff Atwood) #3

What is the situation where resetting a user’s password is necessary? Can you provide a real world example?

(mountain) #4

This has happened to me as a community owner.

A user comes back after an absence, forgot their password.

The email they used to sign up for the account, same thing, forgot the password. They may not even know what email they used to sign up with.

I go in, change the email address on the account and reset their password. They get the proper email prompts, ect.

Wish I could edit a user's full name from admin
(Allen - Watchman Monitoring) #5

When I’m on a support call with someone and they get super impressed with us for “just taking care of things for them”.

I second what @purldator mentioned… if they don’t know the email address, it’s hard for them to do the reset request themselves

(Jeff Atwood) #6

In that case it is really one action, not two – and that is what we should design for. “User forgot everything” button that resets email and password in one click. Though I guess you have to key in a valid email for them at minimum.

(Allen - Watchman Monitoring) #7

Not really… typically no email reset is needed. And those can be edited from the Admin already.