Support for Wistia embeds/recognising URLs with Wisita videos embedded

(Jake Hower) #1

Hi All.

I’m not a coder myself, so I can’t help with this one…

I’m a big user of Wistia for hosting videos. The stats/security/speed/sexiness of the player make it really awesome to use.

I’d love to be able to embed Wistia videos in posts. It would also be great for the videos to be recognised from the URL, similar to what is already the case with Youtube.

How hard would this feature be to add?

(Kane York) #2

Pretty sure this only involves writing a oneboxing class for it and adding it to the whitelist!

(Jeff Atwood) #3

Yep just whitelist the URL. That’s all you need to do.

Which reminds me @eviltrout and @Neil we REALLY REALLY REALLY need to get that onebox whitelist to be editable via the /admin settings. Tired of reading the same request every week, which boils down to “I don’t know how to work the whitelisting of URLs”

(Jake Hower) #4

Cool, thanks @codinghorror. I’m hosting with http://discoursehosting.com/ I’ll shoot them an email to see if they can add it in to the whitelist.

(Cesc Vilanova) #5

Hi @JakeHower. Could you solve this issue with Wistia?

I’m interested on the same feature.

(Adam) #6

Thanks @riking it cleared it up for me.

@Cesc_Vilanova this is how it works:

1. Go to discourse “Settings”
  2. Left Menu; click “Onebox”
  3. In “onebox domains whitelist” enter domain “wistia.com
  4. Go to Wistia; Select a Video and Select “Inline Embed”
  5. In “Advanced Options” check “use oEmbed”
  6. Paste the “Embed Code” which is just a website address… Into the post
  7. Watch the video :smiley:

(Jesse Perry) #7

This is not working for me. Oddly, I was able to get a video to work in the past (I remember having to paste it several times until it actually worked). But I can’t get any to consistently work. Any ideas?