The cheapest solution for hosting?

Hello!
I know that digital ocean offers 5$/month hosting but… I’m a student and the community that I hope to build won’t be very big… Does exist some hosting even cheaper?

I have no technical knowledge, but if I’ve understood well Discourse need an host able to run Docker. So it isn’t possible to use any host service, is it?

Thank you very much :grinning:
By the way, Discourse is amazing.

Cheap Vps Needed
Free Hosted Option?
Cheapest Hosting Option?
Digital Ocean Alternative
Installing discourse on 'inmotion hosting'
Is DigitalOcean necessary?

DigitalOcean isn’t the cheapest VPS provider out there, but for “cloud” they’re pretty cheap. You’ll be hard pressed to find anything cheaper than $5/m that will provide you the correct kernel which supports AUFS, which is needed for docker. What you could do is go to a place like kvm – Low End Box, and contact all the cheap VPS providers to ask specifically what kernel version you will be provided. You’re looking for 3.13x or better.

If you’re looking at 512mb, you’ll be limited to something like 192MB, 2 unicorn workers, and even then you’ll need 1GB on swap setup, and I’d highly suggest not putting anything else on there. You can probably get a decent deal on 1GB from that above link with KVM if you get the whole year. Honestly though? If you can’t allocate at least $5/m, then something is wrong. That’s not even the price of a pizza. You should be able to figure this out.

[quote=“pl3bs, post:2, topic:24060, full:true”]
What you could do is go to a place like kvm – Low End Box, and contact all the cheap VPS providers to ask specifically what kernel version you will be provided. You’re looking for 3.13x or better. [/quote]
Thank you very much :smile:

You’re right, 5$/m is effordable if the forum is really used. The problem is that I don’t know if my project is good.
However I have 2 things to say